Updated Reading List: 7-9-09

July 9, 2009 at 2:00 pm Leave a comment

Since my last posting of my proposed reading list, I’ve received a ton of suggestions. So many that, at the rate that I also discover new and interesting books, I probably won’t get to them all by the end of the summer. Currently high on the list are Yukio Mishma’s short story collection Death in Midsummer and John Locke’s Essay on Human Understanding. As early modern philosophy is a huge weakness of mine, I figured now was a good time to shore it up with some good, old-fashioned British empiricism. Also, I’ve been meaning to read his views on substance and qualities since I took “Philosophy and the Environment” at Edinburgh last year. Because that University had an understandably old-school approach to philosophy amongst its undergraduates, all of the students in the class that WEREN’T exchange students seemed to follow such Lockean discussion while I barely held on.

Of course, I still need to finish Orientalism and What Functions Explain. Reading some of Kitcher’s essays would also probably be time well spent. And I picked up an essay collection on Locke, hoping that it would offer more clarification than confusion. In the land of fiction, I found Pynchon’s Gravity’s Rainbow on the side of the road, so that might bump up after I finish Mishma’s stories. I also would like to read Snowcrash, The Brothers Karamazov, and all of your recommendations. We’ll see how I fit that into my schedule that involves my heavily resembling a french fry for about 8 hours a day. Awesome.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Review: Kenzaburo Ōe, Rouse Up O Young Men of the New Age! Functional Explanation, Science, and Religion

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

About

Everything on this blog should be taken as a draft, the spilling over of mental activity flung far and wide. The author is a graduate of Hampshire College in Amherst, MA who enjoys many things but devotes most of this space to matters academic.
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

